Housing awards now open
Sponsored Content - Oct 04, 2022 - Think Local

Photo: Contributed
Bercum Builders’ Cypress Hill Estates was a big winner last year.

Calling all builders, renovators and designers!

The Canadian Home Builders Association-Central Okanagan, also known as CHBA-CO, wants all builders, renovators and interior designers to submit their top projects for the 30th annual Okanagan Housing Awards.

The awards program highlights the top projects in the residential construction industry in both single-family and multi-family construction, renovation and design, as well as featuring awards for special achievements in areas like energy efficiency. 

“The Okanagan is home to some of the most talented and creative people in the residential construction industry Canada-wide,” CHBA-CO executive officer Daniel Winer says. “Whether it’s creatively navigating infil projects within the city or overcoming the challenges of hillside construction, our local industry has a technical expertise and artistic eye that is envied across the country. These awards are a chance to celebrate that dedication to craftsmanship.”

Now in its 30th year, the Okanagan Housing Awards have become a marquee event in the region and is one of the largest awards programs in British Columbia. The program celebrates everything from high-end, multi-million dollar homes to small-scale carriage homes, as well as mid-rise and high-rise projects that are popping up throughout the region. Locally, the Okanagan residential construction industry creates $1.9 billion dollars in economic output, second only to tourism in the region. Winners of the Okanagan Housing Awards regularly go on to win awards at both the provincial and national level. 

“Our members saw many challenges last year as they worked to build a wide spectrum of much-needed homes for Canadians, from supply chain shortages to huge construction material cost increases,” CHBA chief executive officer Kevin Lee says. “But the residential construction industry is resilient and active in every community across Canada.

“These awards recognize everything from purpose-built rental to entry-level homes to custom homes and renovations. They are wonderfully representative of the variety of homes we have in Canada, including the implementation of leading construction techniques for greater efficiency and affordability, and a wide range of design.”

The call for entries deadline is Friday, Nov. 4, with the finalists to be announced in early December. A gala event announcing the winners is scheduled for Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023. 

Businesses looking to submit their best projects can do so here. Specific details about each of the 49 awards can be found here.

Photo: Contributed
Harvard Road by 3rd Generation Homes also wowed the judges last year.

This article is written by or on behalf of the sponsoring client and does not necessarily reflect the views of Okanagan Edge.

All Think Local Stories