Bursary funds nearly double
Colin Dacre - Aug 09, 2019 - Get Involved

Photo: Contributed

The Community Foundation of the South Okanagan Similkameen has announced the recipients of $46,000 in student bursaries this year.

“This year ten different endowment funds granted bursaries to local students of all ages,” Community Foundation of the South Okanagan Similkameen’s Sarah Trudeau said in a press release. “These endowment funds have been created by donors who believe in the value of education and its power to improve quality of life for an individual and their family.

“This year we had ten bursary funds available, which was an increase from six the previous year. We had an overwhelming amount of applicants to our bursary program this year.”

Thirteen students received the Dr. John & Kathy Scarfo Fund bursaries, which granted each student over $2,500. These bursaries were awarded to students who live an active and healthy lifestyle, and are pursuing education in an effort to improve life for themselves and their families.

The recipients were Rylee Holt, Makeena Hartmann, Petra Holler, Mary Nightingale, Hector Carlos, Joseph Wiebe, Jonathan Hesla, Palwinder Toor, Catey Lewis, Danielle Rudyk, Jennifer Butler and Autumn Cork-Evans.

The Sharon Amos Legacy Fund for the Arts was established after the death of community leader, Sharon Amos.  The fund awards four students who are pursuing education in the arts. This year they were Martha Pace, Jessica O’Gorman, Jenna Mercer and Tianna Ferlizza.

Three local students received just more than $600 from the South Okanagan Aboriginal Bursary Fund supporting local aboriginal students: Sheila Wilson, Alexandria Johnstone, Kalezafar Lawrence.

The Culver Family Bursary Fund was established to support students entering their second year of humanities. Jeannelle Clements is the recipient and was awarded $1,400.

Lynn & Brian Jackson Endowment for Fine Arts was established with a $500 bursary to support students who are pursuing an education in the fine arts. The recipient of this award was Shivanya Albas.

The Okanagan Chito-Ryo Society Bursary Fund supports current or past members of the Okanagan Chito-Ryu Society. The recipient of this award is Akira Wong.

Stewart and Heather Glynes established The Bench Market Bursary Fund to support students entering the Culinary Art programs. The recipient of this award is Jenayah Lefebvre.

The Thea Haubrich Bursary Fund was created in memoriam of Haubrich, an accomplished artist.  The recipient of this year’s award was Mindy Rollins.

Two new bursary funds were established this year. The Charles & Irene Armstrong Bursary that supports students pursuing post-secondary educations was won by Jarret Nickel. The L&R Supplementary Bursary was established to support students pursuing education to upgrade for employment qualification, and the first recipient was Eric Kroeker.

All Get Involved Stories